Aurora is a historic river town that is situated 35 miles west of Cincinnati, Ohio, located in the Southeast corner of Indiana. Aurora was settled in the early 1800's and incorporated in 1845 and has strong historic connections to the Ohio River. Aurora is full of unique and historic buildings that preserve its older rivercity characteristics.
213 5th St, Aurora, IN
Cindy Schuette, Director
Hillforest, an iconic site in downtown Aurora that overlooks the Ohio River, was home to industrialist and financier Thomas Gaff and his family between 1855 and 1891. Today, the mansion enjoys the designation of National Historic Landmark and serves as a historical museum and local event destination.
Tours of the Mansion run from April 1st - December 30th, 1:00 - 5:00 p.m. The last tour begins at 4:30 p.m. The Museum is closed on Mondays and major holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, & Christmas Day).
Admission: $7.50 for Adults & Students over age 13, $3.50 for Children ages 7 - 13, and Free for Children 6 and under.
Hillforest is available for small wedding ceremonies, capacity up to 65 people including the wedding party. The museum is also available for photography sessions, bridal teas, showers, and rehearsal dinners. Call or email for prices.
For information or pricing call: 812-926-0087 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Community Appreciation Day
September 17th, 1:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Hillforest celebrates Indiana's Bicentennial with Hoosier Neighbor? $1.00 tours of Hillforest. The Harris Cabin, an Indiana Bicentennial legacy project, will be open for viewing as well.
Aurora Ghost Walk
October 27th, 7:00 p.m. & 8:00 p.m.
Tour the streets of Aurora after dark with historian Jim Waldon and learn of the unseen inhabitants of the town. The tour includes a low-light tour of Hillforest and refreshments. Call 812-926-1100 for reservations. Cost is $10.00.
Hillforest Mystery Dinner Theater
October 28th & 29th, 6:30 p.m.
Enjoy an evening of mystery and intrigue as Rivertown Players presents an original presentation of "The Cellar" at Hillforest. A three-course dinner is included in the price of the event. *Reservations required.* Cost for Hillforest members is $40.00, non-members $45.00.
A Teddy Bear Tea
November 19th, 11:00 a.m.
Kids ages 5-12 will enjoy a fun-filled tea party featuring teddy bear treats, touring Hillforest decorated for Christmas, and creating a take home teddy bear ornament. Cost $15 per person. Families with 3 or more children will receive a discount. *Reservations required.*
A Victorian Christmas
November 20th - December 30th, 1:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Open Tuesday - Sunday, Closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Experience Christmas past and visit beautiful Hillforest decorated for the holidays. Regular admission charged. Last tour begins at 4:30 p.m.
Victorian Christmas Tea Time
December 3rd, 6th, & 8th, 1:00 p.m.
Tour Hillforest’s Victorian Christmas exhibit and enjoy a festive three-course tea in the Hillforest parlors featuring delicious seasonal treats and flavored tea. *Reservations required.* Cost for Members $28.00, Non-members $30.00.
Hillforest Holiday Open House
Bring the family to tour Hillforest as it is decked out for the holidays featuring costumed docents, refreshments, and entertainment. Regular hours and admission. Last tour beings at 4:30 p.m.
Last Day to Tour Hillforest in 2016
Don't let another year go by without visiting Hillforest. Admission charged.
In the Spring of 1853 Isaiah Rogers, an architect known as the "father of the modern hotel", met with Thomas Gaff, a prominent Aurora financier and industrialist, to and examine a plot of land on which Gaff wished to build a new home. Rogers would design for Gaff a magnificent mansion situated on ten acres of land overlooking the Ohio River that Gaff and his family would call home from 1855 to 1891. Although based on the Italian Renaissance architectural style, the two-story home's design reflected Gaff's involvement in the shipping industry with its full-width front porch being reminiscent of a steamboat's deck. The enduring legacy of Rogers's design for what came to be known as Hillforest Mansion was highlighted in 1992 when the United States Department of the Interior designated the mansion as a National Historic Landmark.
Thomas was not the first Gaff brother to build a home in Aurora. His brother James had that distinction, constructing a home on the southwest corner of Fourth and Main streets known as Linden Terrace. Thomas, however, would more than match his brother's efforts with Hillforest. The building's steamboat-influenced style is reflected in its circular porches and colonnades, curved doors and windows, and a circular rooftop belvedere with round-arched windows that resemble a steamboat's pilothouse. Also, the interior features a flying staircase in the entrance hall that is typical of the better steamboats of the time period.
Hillforest would remain in the Gaff family until 1926, when it was purchased by Will Stark, a local furniture manufacturer. The home eventually became the clubhouse for the local Veterans of Foreign Wars, who used it for that purpose from the late 1940's to the mid 1950's. In late 1955, when the VFW decided the home did not meet its needs, a group of local citizens, fearing the home would meet the same fate as Linden Terrace (which had fallen into disrepair and had been torn down), banded together to purchase the mansion. They formed the Hillforest Historical Foundation as a non-profit organization and has been open to the public as a historic property museum since 1956.