Aurora is a historic river town that is situated 35 miles west of Cincinnati, Ohio, located in the Southeast corner of Indiana. Aurora was settled in the early 1800's and incorporated in 1845 and has strong historic connections to the Ohio River. Aurora is full of unique and historic buildings that preserve its older rivercity characteristics.

Main Street Aurora page title card - Who We Are.

Get In Touch

231 Main St., Suite 210
Aurora, IN 47001
812-926-1100 -

Main Street Aurora's Facebook link.

2018 National Accreditation

Main Street Aurora has been designated as an accredited Main Street America™ program for meeting rigorous performance standards set by the National Main Street Center. Each year, the National Main Street Center and its Coordinating Program partners announce the list of accredited Main Street America programs in recognition of their exemplary commitment to preservation-based economic development and community revitalization through the Main Street Approach.

Main Street Aurora envisions downtown Aurora will be a thriving business, residential and arts community offering a unique experience that seamlessly blends the natural beauty of its landscape, preservation of its historic heritage and multitude of retail, entertainment and service establishments. Main Street Aurora is working to make a Difference! Your financial support through membership, sponsorship, or the purchase of items offered for sale by Main street Aurora is greatly appreciated and supports special events, public relations efforts and the revitalization of Historic Downtown Aurora. Find all upcoming events at

Since 1998, Main Street Aurora has been working hard to make a difference in Historic Downtown Aurora. We are a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that works closely with the City of Aurora. Our mission to revitalize the downtown keeps us striving to find new ways to build interest in the city. Main Street Aurora is a Certified Main Street program both nationally and through Indiana Main Street. We are volunteer guided and driven.


The Mission of Main Street Aurora is to revitalize the historic downtown physically, commercially, and as a community gathering place.


Downtown Aurora will be a thriving business, residential and arts community offering a unique experience that seamlessly blends the natural beauty of its landscape, preservation of its historic heritage and a multitude of retail, entertainment and service establishments.

Board of Directors

Judy S. Hizer, President

Debbie Fehling, Vice President

James G. Waldon, Past President

Terri Schmeltzer, Secretary

Samantha J. Peddenpohl, Treasurer

Pamela Brandes, Member

R. Brett Fehrman, Member

Wayne Schroeder, Member

Shane Wagner, Member

Nancy Turner, Executive Director


Main Street Aurora stretches every dollar in its budget to fund the various projects and events that we organize and manage each year. As a non-profit organization, however, it is inevitable that we will come to rely on the generosity of local businesses and individuals to cover any shortfalls. Because of the donations you provide we are able to continue to serve the City of Aurora, and we are so very grateful to everyone who gives!


By purchasing a Main Street Aurora Membership you are directly supporting the year-round special events, public relations efforts, and the continued revitalization of the Historic Downtown Aurora area. Additionally, your membership entitles you to discounts on Main Street Aurora merchandise and events, and all memberships are considered charitable donations that are fully tax deductible.

Membership Options


  • Aurora Lions Club


  • City of Spires Historical Foundation & Museum
  • Hillforest Historical House Museum


  • Aurora Utilities
  • Rullman Hunger Funeral Home


  • Stedman Machine Company


  • John & Marianne Borgman
  • Ken & Sharon Cleeter
  • Dearborn County Chamber of Commerce
  • Dearborn County Tourism/Debbie Smith
  • *Douglas Denmure
  • *Edward Jones/Bill & Emily Powers
  • Dr. Frank Frable
  • *Friendship Bank
  • Judy Mosier
  • Janet & Carl Petty
  • *James & Delores Rector
  • Roger & Patty Rullman
  • Terri & Mark Schmeltzer
  • *Shedna Rae Slayback
  • *United Community Bank/E.G. McLaughlin


  • *Aurora Floral's All About Home
  • Aurora Public Library District
  • *Beacon News
  • Beinkemper Creative Services, Inc.
  • Dr. Frank Burton
  • *CJ’s Liquor
  • *Combs Pizza
  • Dearborn County Extension
  • *Discounted Bargains
  • *Douglas Ruter DDS
  • Great Crescent Brewery
  • Kappa Kappa Kappa, Inc.
  • *Leasure CPA & Associates
  • Lischkge Motors
  • McCabe's Greenhouse & Floral
  • McDonalds Southeastern IN
  • *Personally Yours
  • *Premier Insurance Solutions
  • *Sons of the American Legion
  • Southeastern Indiana Art Guild
  • Superior Renovations of Indiana
  • Yelton's Will's Grill


  • Jada & Greg Ankenbauer
  • Gary & Lisa Giblin
  • *Jenny & Joe Awad
  • *Guinevere Emery
  • Erin & Kris Fairfield
  • Debbie & Roger Fehling
  • Larry & Janet Giffin
  • Mel & Carol Green
  • David & Judy Hizer
  • Mary Alice Horton Family
  • George & Gwen Miller
  • *Alan Miller Family
  • Marilyn & Dale Moeller
  • *Mark & Janice Neff
  • *Donald & Louann Olson
  • *Kathi & Jack Prarat
  • Richard & Sharon Probst
  • Howard & Faye Ross
  • Cynthia Rottinghaus
  • Larry & Loraine Rumsey
  • Wayne & Vicki Schroeder
  • *Elise & Chris Smith
  • *Jack & Beth Sutton
  • Patty, Larry & Lori Tibbs
  • Nancy & Ben Turner
  • Randolph Turner
  • *Wood & Ruth Whitaker
  • *Donald & Betty Ziegler


  • Merlee Adkins
  • Catherine Backman
  • *Bob Ernsting
  • Pamela Brandes
  • *Sheila Clark
  • Kathy Donselman
  • Phee Ellinghausen
  • Donna Fisher
  • Lois Harper
  • Charlotte Hastings
  • Mayor Donnie Hastings, Jr.
  • Frances & Kenny Jackson
  • Annie Meyer Kaplan
  • Opal LaFollette
  • Roy & Neysa Lambert
  • Carol & Tom Lovins
  • *Evelyn & Bill Meyer
  • Shirley Meyer
  • Patrick Mulvaney
  • Samantha Peddenpohl
  • Mike Peters
  • Vesta Philbrick
  • Matthew Probst
  • John Rahe, DDS
  • *Nancy & Ken Ray
  • Sharon Rosenburgh
  • Gerald & Marna Ross
  • JoAnn Ruehl
  • Karla Schmeltzer
  • Beverly Strasemeier
  • *Doris Strimple
  • Mary Ann Teaney
  • Nancy Tibbetts
  • *Benjamin & Tabatha Turner
  • *Joseph Turner
  • *Esther Uhlmansiek
  • Nick & Judy Ullrich
  • Suzanne & Richard Ullrich, Sr.
  • *Fern Vanosdol
  • *Shane Wagner
  • James Waldon
  • Marjorie Waldon
  • Deborah Walston
  • *Corinne Wesemann
  • Velma "Jean“ Witte
  • Bill Yelton
  • * Became members in 2017